This past spring, I attended a 🎥musical 🎥that my child’s school produced. It was a series of short “snip its” from different Broadway shows. It was spectacular and such fun to watch! I noticed a particular student in the musical who exuded confidence. This teen is involved in multiple activities and beams with great security. It’s quite evident and wonderful to see at such a very young age. Many make the mistake of always classifying confidence with arrogance. Though, I too, have had and have experience with the arrogant; we must never label all those with security as prideful. God’s Word assures us that He desires for us to have confidence.💪🏻👊🏻💪🏻👊🏻💪🏻

“Such confidence we have through Christ toward God.” 2 Cor. 3:4✝️

“…in whom we have boldness and confident access through faith in Him.” Eph. 3:12✝️

“For you are my hope; O Lord God, you are my confidence from my youth.” Psalm 71:5✝️

Based on the Scriptures, I know that God wants us to be filled with a holy assurance, but so often we avoid seeking it or even walking in it because it is often coupled with a fear of self-righteousness🤔. Is being confident about who we are in Christ and what we know to be true about the decisions we make a sign of arrogance? Why is there a tendency for us to feel shame when we walk in a strong confidence? Why do we 😬worry😬so about this whole thing? Maybe you don’t, but I’ve talked to a number of people who do and I believe it is keeping us insecure and apathetic in our walk.

Recently, I had to set a 🙅🏻boundary. God gave me insight as to what was happening “behind the scenes” and that I was not to fall for what I was 🙉hearing 🙉with my ears. I tend to feel guilt over things that are 👉🏻not mine👈🏻to feel guilt over. The 😈enemy 😈knows how easy I can fall in this trap and he plays it like a good hand of cards in a tight game of poker. I fell in the trap once again, however God came to my side.

“The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in Him, and He helps me.” Psalm 28:7✝️

He helped me by comforting me and giving me insight that made me realize what was really happening. 🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻Though setting the boundary was still hard, I was determined to do it confidently even if it was painful. The confidence was not only in the boundary, but it was in me 👉🏻believing 👈🏻what God was telling me 👉🏻so that I could have peace👈🏻. How thankful I am that He fights for us!

Having faith that we are making decisions that are God directed doesn’t mean that we do not have difficulty in executing them. I think the difference is that when we have Christ like confidence we are boldly standing on our convictions that God has written in His Word and etched in our hearts. The stronger we are in what HE says, the more confident we pursue our days and press on through difficult circumstances. 👊🏻💪🏻👊🏻💪🏻

Strong conviction breeds confidence.🤗🤗🤗

I loved watching the musical and marveled at the different ways these precious teens handled coming out of their comfort zones. The confident actor continued to capture my attention. Not one time did I detect conceit or pretentiousness, rather excitement. I knew there was a strong belief in what was being carried out and a beaming happiness in delivering it. This was so contagious! I find the same thing in Biblical confidence. 😍It is an unshakable conviction formed from a strong belief that is then delivered in joy and kindness. 😍It is beautiful and sincere because it is not an assurance in self but 👉🏻a belief in God! 👈🏻An absolute trust in the Great I AM! 🎉And, this, my friends, is absolutely contagious!

God wants us to have confidence in what He is telling us and/or what He has told us. If it is insight into a difficult circumstance, 👉🏻believe Him.👈🏻 If it is a vision of what is to come, then 👉🏻trust Him 👈🏻in the process that most certainly will require patience and time. For some of us, He may be challenging us to have confidence in relationship that He has assured you will be restored but it hasn’t happened yet. For others it may be the fulfilling of a call, related to work or ministry or both. Whatever the current challenge is, we must remain 👉🏻vigilant in belief!👈🏻 The enemy loves to cue his choir of doubt and fear so they sing relentless songs of despair in our ears! He doesn’t want us to remain confident in God. He doesn’t want us to be hopeful. He wants us to crumble and give up hope or better yet find an alternate way to get what we think we need. Ultimately, he wants us to question God’s promise or force something that is not in God’s timing. He knows that whenever we start to lose hope, we begin to lose joy. Our attitude becomes lifeless and our motivation dries up. Our panic button gets pressed and we retreat or we rearrange what God said in order to bring a fast comfort to our crisis. He doesn’t want us to see the miraculous movement of God in all His splendor and all His glory! That one, you can bet on!

“Do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what He has promised.” Heb. 10:35-36

We see this wrestling with confidence all through God’s Word. Whether it was regarding standing on truth of God; resting in His grace or trusting Him in the wait, it is most certainly a common theme in the Scriptures.

Sarah, Abraham’s wife, stopped believing that God was going to give “her” the promise he spoke years before. She assumed it had to be through someone else. Logic chimed in and lulled her into making God’s promise happen a different way. Oh, how this caused such heartache and pain for her and others.🤦🏻‍♀️ God wanted the beautiful promise to come directly to her and through her. 🎉Her act of faith would be to wait on his timing and persevere, but she began to question what God really said or maybe simply doubt what God really meant. Sarah seemingly thought she needed to tamper with the details of this whole thing a bit. Oh, how time will test our faith…⌛️👉🏻✝️

Because she believed she was too old to see God fulfill the kind of promise He gave her, she devised a different way to get what she so desperately wanted. Her unbelief led her to make a desperate decision. I believe she had mulled over this idea for a while. It is to our detriment to repeat faithless thoughts over and over. We must recognize them quickly and hasten to replace them with truth least we slip into discouragement and disobedience.

“I will hasten and not delay to obey your commands.” Psalm 119:60

Wonder 🤔what our statement of unbelief is? I am too_______? Maybe it is not a personal doubt regarding our abilities. 🤔Maybe our doubt is related to what we cannot see with our eyes. __________cannot happen because I don’t see any evidence of it occurring.  Wonder what statement of unbelief has cornered our confidence?🤔

It’s time to put these thoughts to rest and proclaim God’s truth.🎉👉🏻✝️

“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Heb.11:1

If we are not confident in Christ moving to fulfill His promise, then we will miss the  “signs” He puts forth to encourage us as we journey towards the goal. We will miss opportunities for growth because we have stopped believing. We will delay the blessing even longer and grow an attitude of discouragement.

I believe that there are so many in need of revived confidence! Let’s challenge ourselves to remain assured that 👉🏻God is 👈🏻growing us and preparing us for whatever He has said. If we believe this, we will exhibit an attitude of excitement and joy and we will NOT miss the opportunities He sets before us! Just like the actor from the drama, we will shine with an assurance that says “Here I am today, but how excited I am as to where God will take me in the future and I will dance and sing every step of the way there.”💃💃💃

Love you all,

td

 

 

Leave a Reply

